Happy Women’s Day!

Lately, I had this amazing experience!

Not your usual outing.
I went out with friends and had…just the best outing ever.
It was so fulfilling and satisfying!!

Then we took an auto back home.
I don’t remember the last time I felt so calm and relaxed in an auto. Lol.

I was just looking out of the road when I saw this beautiful Royal Enfield Classic 500 Squadron Blue. Ughh love that one!

But then slowly my eyes moved over to other vehicles across the road.

And then suddenly, out of nowhere, I felt goosebumps.

(One would think this is exaggeration, but it did happen.)

I felt this strange feeling of…maybe you’d call it being scared or something like that. Maybe it was slight fear or anxiety. Not sure what it was exactly.

All because of traffic.
No. I’m not scared of the traffic but…

The reason I felt so was because, that entire traffic lane filled with cabs, cars, bikes and other vehicles, had no drivers as women.
Not even one woman driver.

Is it weird that this scared me? Yeah, I guess.

I mean you don’t get scared with such things, right?

What’s scarry is someone pointing at you with a gun.

What’s scarry is that- Since a mandatory lockdown was imposed in the country, crime against women soared up, even more than the number of crimes reported by women in the last ten years.

What’s scarry is that every day almost 88 rape cases are reported- and this is just 10% of all crimes against women.

What’s scarry is that the Chief Justice of India asked- “Will you marry her?”  to a man who is accused of repeatedly raping a minor.

What’s scarry is people following and chasing you when you know there’s no one around to help and you just don’t know what’s going to happen next!

That’s when you get scared, right?

Then, why was I scared at this very very very usual view of a busy road in the Capital of India?

I don’t know. I just…can’t process this feeling.

It’s…I feel like I have this knot in my throat.
Like I’m holding back from saying something.
But what is it?
I’m not sure what I should be saying exactly, and what is it that people want to hear?!

But I’m still scared and worried and anxious.

Oh by the way, Happy Women’s Day!

Leave a comment